

TEXAS MEDICAL BOARD

Mari Robinson, J.D. Executive Director

Presentation to the Senate Committee on Health and Human Services
February 18, 2016



Mission Statement

"Our mission is to protect and enhance the public's health, safety and welfare by establishing and maintaining standards of excellence used in regulating the practice of medicine and ensuring quality health care for the citizens of Texas through licensure, discipline and education."

7

Texas Medical Board Composition

- 12 Physician members (9 M.D. and 3 D.O.)
- 7 Public members (non-physicians)
- Appointed by the Governor for 6 year term

Board members

Michael Arambula, M.D.- President

George Willeford III, M.D. -Vice President

Paulette Southard – Secretary

Julie Attebury

David Baucom

Frank S. Denton

John D. Ellis, Jr., J.D.

Carlos L. Gallardo

Manuel G. Guajardo, M.D.

John R. Guerra, D.O.

Scott Holliday, D.O.

Margaret McNeese, M.D.

Allan Shulkin, M.D.

Robert Simonson, D.O.

Wynne Snoots, M.D.

Karl W. Swann, M.D.

Stanley S. Wang, M.D., J.D.

Timothy Webb, J.D.

Surendra Varma, M.D.



Applicable Statutes

Sec. 164.051. GROUNDS FOR DENIAL OR DISCIPLINARY ACTION.

- (a) The board may refuse to admit a person to its examination or refuse to issue a license to practice medicine and may take disciplinary action against a person if the person:
- (6) fails to practice medicine in an acceptable professional manner consistent with public health and welfare.



Statistics

- Approximately 5 total complaints received in this area:
 - □ 2 dismissed after investigation
 - □ 1 dismissed after informal hearing
 - □ 1 disciplinary order
 - □ 1 in a current investigation