SENATE COMMITTEE ON EDUCATION

SENATOR FLORENCE SHAPIRO

Chair SENATOR DAN PATRICK Vice Chair



MEMBERS: SENATOR JOHN CARONA SENATOR WENDY DAVIS SENATOR MARIO GALLEGOS SENATOR STEVE OGDEN SENATOR KEL SELIGER SENATOR LETICIA VAN de PUTTE SENATOR ROYCE WEST

AGENDA Tuesday, February 1, 2011 Capitol Extension, E1.028 10:00 a.m.

- I. Call to Order
- **II.** Committee Business
- III. Remarks from Chair and Members
- IV. Flexibility and Mandate Relief
 - Panel 1: School Organizations
 - Karen Ellis, Board of Trustees, Richardson ISD, Board of Directors, Texas Association of School Boards
 - o Rod Schroder, Superintendent, Amarillo Independent School District, President, The School Alliance
 - o Dr. Richard Middleton, Superintendent, North East ISD, TASA
 - o Cheryl Mehl, Chair, Council of School Attorneys
 - Ann Smisko, Ph.D., Associate Commissioner for School Support and Improvement, Texas Education Agency
 - Panel 2: School District Leaders
 - Panel 3: Educator Associations
 - o Lonnie Hollingsworth, Jr., Director of Legal Services/Governmental Relations
 - o Eric Hartman, Director of Government Relations, Texas AFT
 - o Richard Kouri, Assistant Executive Director for Public Affairs, Texas State Teachers Association
 - o Brock Gregg, Governmental Relations Director, ATPE
- V. Public Testimony
- VI. Recess