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Background

The Hazlewood Act provides an exemption of tuition and mandatory fees other than deposit
and student service fees for up to 150 semester credit hours. The exemption is available at
public institutions but does not apply to courses for which the institution does not receive
formula funding unless the college or university chooses to do so.

Texas veterans who have completed at least 180 days of active military duty and have
honorable discharges or separations from service are eligible for an exemption under the
Hazlewood Act. If a Texas veteran is killed in the line of duty or disabled and determined
100 percent unemployable, the benefit can be received by a veteran’s dependent or
spouse. To use the benefit, a veteran or his/her dependent/spouse must complete the
appropriate application and submit it to the institution he or she will be attending.

During FY 2009, 9,526 veterans and 21 dependents received a Hazlewood Exemption
totaling over $24.2 million.

Recent Changes to the Hazlewood Act

The 81st Texas Legislature, through the approval of SB 93, SB 297, and SB 847, made a
variety of changes to the Hazlewood Act. The changes became effective for the fall 2009
semester and are outlined below.

< SB 93

Eligibility Expansions

Texas statute previously limited eligibility to veterans who entered the military in the state
of Texas. Due to SB 93, the exemption is extended to veterans who declare Texas as their
home of record, entered the military in Texas, or were residents at the time they entered
the service. Eligibility is also extended to:

1) A surviving spouse of a member of the Armed Forces who was killed in action,
died in service, is missing in action, died as a result of service-connected injury or
iliness, or is totally disabled as a result of a service-related injury; or

2) A surviving spouse of a member of the Texas National Guard or Texas Air
National Guard who was killed or became completely disabled since January 1, 1946,
while on active duty in the service to the state or the United States.



To qualify, a spouse must be classified as a Texas resident at the time of registration in an
eligible institution of higher education. Under the current law, an eligible child must have
resided in the state for at least 12 months immediately preceding his or her registration.

Hazlewood Legacy Act

SB 93 established the Hazlewood Legacy Act which permits eligible veterans to assign their
unused hours to their child. A child must be:
v' Veteran's stepchild, biological child, adopted child or claimed as dependent
(previous or current year);
v" Be less than 26 years old at the time he/she uses the exemption (hardship
extensions possible); and
v Meet financial aid satisfactory academic progress requirements.

Federal Benefits

The legislation clarifies how the Hazlewood Act may be used in combination with federal
benefits. Federal benefits may now be used with the Hazlewood exemption only if the
federal benefits used to pay for tuition and fees do not exceed the Hazlewood exemption
value. This provision allows federal benefits issued under CH33 and CH31 to be ‘stacked’
with Hazlewood. In addition, the combination of federal benefits for tuition and fees and
the Hazlewood exemption may not exceed tuition and fee charges for the term.

< SB 847

Programs with Extraordinary Costs

All public two-year institutions may charge Hazlewood-eligible students a fee for courses with
extraordinary costs. Extraordinary costs are defined by Hazlewood rules as tuition and fee costs
that exceed the average tuition and fee charges of the institution. Prior to the passage of SB
847, this provision only applied to community colleges.

<+ SB 297

Combat Tuition Exemption

This legislation created a Combat Tuition Exemption. The exemption is for dependent
children of U.S. Armed Forces members who are deployed on active duty for the purpose of
engaging in a combative military operation outside the U.S. To be eligible, the child must be
a resident of Texas or entitled to pay the resident tuition rate, a provision which makes the
exemption an option for the children of out-of-state military personnel currently stationed in
Texas. Fees are not exempted, and the state appropriated funds to reimburse institutions
for the tuition foregone through this program.
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