SENATE COMMITTEE ON EDUCATION

SENATOR FLORENCE SHAPIRO

Chair SENATOR ROYCE WEST Vice Chair



MEMBERS:
SENATOR KIP AVERITT
SENATOR KYLE JANEK
SENATOR STEVE OGDEN
SENATOR TODD STAPLES
SENATOR LETICIA VAN de PUTTE
SENATOR TOMMY WILLIAMS
SENATOR JUDITH ZAFFIRINI

AGENDA

Wednesday, October 4, 2006 Capitol Extension, E1.028 10:00 a.m.

- I. Call to Order
- II. Interim Charge #1: To review and make recommendations on any improvements necessary for the state's accountability system, especially as it relates to closing and measuring achievement gaps. The Committee should study the feasibility of establishing statutory minimum or baseline performance standards for state education policies. Such a review should include a thorough study of the current assessment structure and make any recommendations about moving to other formats such as end of course testing. The Committee shall also make recommendations on how to incorporate alternative delivery methods when assessing student performance.
 - A. Overview of Current Accountability System
 - Dr. Shirley J. Neeley, Commissioner of Education, Texas Education Agency
 - Dr. Criss Cloudt, Associate Commissioner for Accountability and Data Quality, Texas Education Agency
 - B. Value-added School District Accountability
 - Dr. William Sanders, Senior Manager, Value-Added Assessment and Research, University of North Carolina System, Senior Research Fellow
 - C. Accountability Standards
 - Don McAdams, President, Center for Reform of School Systems
 - Bill Hammond, Executive Director, Texas Association of Business
 - Dr. Mike Strozeski, Assistant Superintendent, Accountability and Student Services, Richardson ISD
 - Dr. David Splitek, Superintendent, Lackland ISD
 - D. Assessments
 - Dr. Mary Lyn Bourque, Director, Mid-Atlantic Psychometric Services, Inc.
 - John H. Stevens, Executive Director, Texas Business and Education Coalition
 - Dr. Chrys Dougherty, Director of Research, National Center for Educational Accountability
 - E. On-line Delivery
 - Lisa Chandler, Director of Student Assessment, Texas Education Agency
 - Dr. Whitcomb G. Johnstone, Division Director of Planning, Evaluation and Research, Irving ISD
 - Sam Farsaii, Director, Instructional Technology, Irving ISD
- III. Public Testimony
- IV. Recess