Minutes

Study Commission on Availability of Pre-Owned Heavy Duty Commercial Motor Vehicles

Monday, October 30, 2006 10:00 a.m. Capitol Extension, Room E1.016

Pursuant to a notice posted in the Texas Register, a public hearing of the Study Commission on Availability of Pre-Owned Heavy Duty Commercial Motor Vehicles was held on Monday, October 30. 2006, in the Capitol Extension, Room E1.016, at Austin, Texas.

Members Present:

Members Absent:

None

Representative Fred Hill Senator John Carona Kevin Pagan

Pursuant to the Texas Tax Code section 162.017, the Study Commission on Availability of Pre-Owned Heavy Duty Commercial Motor Vehicles consists of three members, one of whom is the presiding officer. The Governor appointed one general public member, the Lieutenant Governor appointed one member of the Senate and the Speaker appointed one House member.

Representative Hill called the meeting to order at 10:11 a.m. There being a quorum present, the following business was transacted.

Senator Carona made a motion to name Representative Hill as Chair of the Commission, there being no objection, it was so ordered.

The following individuals presented testimony to the Commission:

Dr. Thomas R. Saving (Arrow Truck Sales, Inc.),

Brett Bray (TxDOT),

David Orf (Texas Truck Dealers Coalition and Rush Enterprises)

James Ellis (Texas Truck Dealers Coalition)

Duane Kyrish (Self)

Martha F. Ellison (Texas Truck Dealers Coalition)

Will Hendrix (Self)

Borden Bell (Self)

Clark McEwen (Texas Recreational Vehicle Association)

Bill Kipp (Texas Recreational Vehicle Association)

STUDY COMMISSION ON AVAILABILITY OF PRE-OWNED HEAVY DUTY COMMERCIAL MOTOR VEHICLES

Minutes Monday, October 30, 2006 page 2

Kevin Lancaster (Self)

Karen Phillips (Texas Automobile Dealers Association)

Dr. C. R. "Buzz" Canup (SelecTrucks)

Brit T. Brown (SelecTrucks)

Gerald Chunn (SelecTrucks)

Martin Osborne (SelecTrucks/Freightliner Market Development Corporation)

Steve Clough (Arrow Truck Sales, Inc.)

Billy Donley (Arrow Truck Sales, Inc.)

Dennis Huffmon (International Truck and Engine Corporation)

Stephen Fink (International Truck and Engine Corporation)

Marvin W. Rush (Rush Enterprises, Inc.)

There being no further business, at 1:26 p.m., Chairman Hill moved that the Commission be adjourned. Without objection, it was so ordered.

The Honorable Fred Hill, Chair

Erika Akpan, Assistant Clerk